TweeNet Bands | Labels | Lists | More | Search
(United States) Seattle
Tullycraft was born out of the ashes of two Harriet Records cult bands: Crayon and Wimp Factor 14. Sean Tollefson and Jeff Fell (Crayon) and Gary Miklusek (Wimp Factor 14) hooked up in 1995. Soon after, they recorded a batch of songs with Pat Maley at Yoyo Studios in Olympia, WA. Out of those sessions came the "True Blue" single on Harriet Records and an instant indie pop classic "Pop songs your new boyfriend's too stupid to know about". In 1996 they released their full length debut "Old Traditions, New Standards" on Harriet Records. They followed up their first album with singles on labels from Japan, England, Germany, the U.S. They then cemented their cult status by endless touring all over the U.S. and by choosing to play house shows and universities rather than clubs and bars. They were getting lots of airplay on college radio and tons of press in the indie scene. After a couple guest appearances with the band, Chris Munford (IncredibleForce of Junior) joined Tullycraft in 1998. Chris contributed keyboards, 2nd guitar and recording engineering to the 2nd full length album "City of Subarus" on Cher Doll Records. The entire record was recorded at Chris' house across the street from a Subaru dealership. With the "buzz" Tullycraft had and with a new label (with better distribution), this record came just at the right time. College radio went crazy for the new singles "8 Great Ways", "Belinda", and "Ticket Tonight." After "City of Subarus" Tullycraft toured the U.S. one last time and then took a break from playing live and recording. The time that followed saw the band mostly in hiatus only playing festivals, Popfests and the occasional Yoyo-a-gogo. Gary Miklusek (a founding member) left the band after the 1999 Popfest in San Francisco. Tullycraft's fate was up in the air. Sean continued to work on his Casio solo recording project Six Cents and Natalie. In 2000 Jeff, Chris, and Sean started playing together again and soon began working on new songs. Harold (Sno Boy), who had played with the band between the first two albums in 1997, was re-recruited to play 2nd guitar on the new material. The result is the 3rd proper full length Tullycraft album "Beat, Surf, Fun" on Magic Marker Records. Tullycraft have emerged from an extended absence in style. The new songs reflect a greater pop sensibility than ever before. New fans will love the new album and old fans will go crazy for it!
Sean Tollefson for TweeNet in April 2002

Edit this biography
TweeNet news articles:
True Blue (7") May 1995
on Harriet Records - 30
1st String Teenage High (7") 1995
on Little Teddy Recordings - Lite 738
Josie (7")
on Wurlitzer Jukebox - W.J.13
Bailey Park (7") 1996
on Cher Doll Records - CHER 7
Old Traditions, New Standards (LP+CD) 1996
on Harriet Records - SPY 5
and Little Teddy Recordings - BITE 31
vinyl has two extra tracks
City Of Subarus (LP+CD) Summer 1998
on Cher Doll Records - CHER 11
The Singles (CD) 1999
on Darla Records
Twee (7") Feb 2002
on Little Teddy Recordings - Lite 749
- Twee
- Falling Out Of Love (with you)
Beat Surf Fun (LP+CD) April 2002
on Magic Marker Records - MMR 20
- Christine, ND
- Cowgirls on Parade
- DIY Queen
- Glitter & Twang
- I Kept the Beach Boys
- Knockout
- Orange Cake Mix
- Radio Theme
- Sent to the Moon
- Twee
- Who Needs What
- Wild Bikini
Disenchanted Hearts Unite (LP+CD) 3-May-2005
on Magic Marker Records - MMR 31
- Stowaway
- Our Days In Kansas
- Every Little Thing
- Leaders of the New School
- The Last Song
- Molly's Got a Crush On Us
- Polaroids From Mars
- Rumble With the Gang Debs
- Fall 4 U
- Girl About Town
- Building the Robot
- Secretly Minnesotan
Every Scene Needs A Center (CD) 2007
on Magic Marker Records - MMR 42
- The Punks Are Writing Love Songs
- Fangs on Bats
- Georgette Plays a Goth
- Bored to Hear Your Heart Still Breaks
- Clique At Night Vandals
- Dracula Screams of Tiger Style (Parts 1&2)
- The Lonely Life of The UFO Researcher
- A Cursed Miss Maybellene
- If You Take Away the Make-Up (Then the Vampires They Will Die)
- Misgiving
- The Neutron
- One Essex Girl
- The Secret History of Devil's Paw
- We Know You're Cute, You Told Us
On compilations:
Pop American Style  (CD+LP2) 1996
on March Records - MAR 24
vinyl has been released in Japan only
- Piano Lessons For Beauty Queens
FPAP  (7")
on Papercut Records - PCT 001
- Pink Lemonade
on Kitty Boo - BOO!-002
- Break Seaside (and over)
- Maybe Baby
- Heroes & Villians
Last updated: 17-May-2008 © 1994-2024 TweeNet Creative Commons License