TweeNet Bands | Labels | Lists | More | Search
The Reflection A.O.B.
March 1985 - The Reflection are formed when Harks joined an existing line up of Rich, Stuart, Ian, Wiggy and Barney.
20th April 1985 - The first gig, in a church hall, with the brass section in the pulpit!
21st April - The band has its first recording session, with the result being a demo tape featuring two songs - The Price of Love & All We Need.
14/15th Sept 1985 - The band record seven songs for the forthcoming "No Compromise" album-cassette.
9th November 1985 - "No Compromise" is released featuring the title track, The Price of Love, New Generation, The Undercurrent, Counting Hours, Everyday Talk & All We Need.
30th March 1986 - The first gig as The Reflection AOB in Lowestoft, Suffolk.
19 April 1986 - Matt Godwin joins the band on Alto Saxophone.
May 1986 - The Reflection AOB support Makin' Time at The Cricketers, Oval, South London, and The 100 Club, Oxford St. These are important gigs at renowned venues, with an 'established' headliner, and invaluable attention/support is gained.
3rd July 1986 - Support Makin' Time again, at Dingwalls, in Camden.
July 1986 - The band record four songs for their debut 12" single - Only in My Dreams, The Sting in the Tail of love, Mind the Gap & Give me a Reason.
11th - 27th August 1986 - Italian Tour, organised by Essex Council. They play nine dates in various towns, including one in Bologna to over 2000 people. Early Oct 1986 - Sarah Beale joins on tenor sax and backing vocals. 30th October 1986 - Gig with The Kick and The Moment at the 100 Club.
1st November 1986 - Only in my Dreams released on the band's own "Keep It" label.
21st November - Support Geno Washington at the George Robey in North London. A live bootleg of this set is in existence
30th November 1986 - Record the track All I Want to Be for the Countdown label (through Stiff Records, and a precursor to Acid Jazz Records) compilation "Smashing Time", featuring Hark's Rickenbacker guitar on the sleeve!

Feb 1987 - Support Howlin' Wilf & the Veejays, featuring James Hunter on vocals, as well as Stuart & Ian's brother Keith on drums. A live bootleg of this set is in existence. "Smashing Time" LP released.
March 1987 - Record a second track, 'Trapped in Time', for another Countdown compilation, "The Final Countdown".
May 1987 - Due to commitments outside the group Ian and Barney leave, and the band play a final gig in Weymouth, Dorset.
May - Sept 1987 - The band continue with a new bass player (and one less Agent of Brass!), but eventually split for good following another gig with Howlin Wilf, in North London.
June 1987 - A 2 track demo of "Paint Some Colour" and "Stand up and Believe it" was recorded at Empire Studios, East Ham.

March 1988 - "The Final Countdown" compilation LP is released. Sept 2011 - The six members of the original line up, Harks, Rich, Ian, Stuart, Barney and Wiggy, who have continued to see each other regularly over the years, meet with Sarah at a pub in Euston, London, for the first time in 22 years!

Oct 2011 - Stuart, Ian, Wiggy and Barney meet at Richs studio in Shepherd Bush, London, where he has been working on the masters of all the original recordings, (15 in total), in preparation of releasing an album on line, The Reflection - The Complete Collection 1985-87 - which we hope to put out in the next few months. The recordings still sound fresh and exciting, and the band are all looking forward to making it available 25 years after the release of the 12" single!
January 2012 - The Complete Collection 1985-87 is available to download on CD and I-Tunes.
October 2013 - 'Only in my Dreams' released on The Sounds of Leamington Spa 7 compilation CD as part of independent German label Firestation Records 15th anniversary 4 CD limited edition retrospective box set, entitled 'Still Mad at Me?' Available to buy via Firestation records website.

Dec 8th 2014 - 'All I Want To Be' released as part of the Millions Like Us - The Story Of The Mod Revival 1977-1989 CD boxset, on Cherry Red records.

July 3rd 2015 - The Complete Collection 1985-87 released through Firestation Records on limited edition numbered vinyl and CD. The release comes almost 30 years since the bands first release - the No Compromise album cassette.

July 2020 - A large box of cassettes were found in Stuart's attic of the band's live performances spanning from the 1st gig in April 1985 to the very last in Sept 1987.

Following this Harks has transferred them onto digital format and the band have started to release some onto Soundcloud, (search The Reflection A.O.B), and their Facebook page, as well as a whole gig from the 100 club in Oct 1986 which is also on Youtube. More to follow so please keep a look out....

Sept 25th 2020 - Eddie Piller presents The Mod Revival x4 Cd and double vinyl released on the Demon/Edsel label. All I Want To Be features on CD4, Track 6. The band are honoured to be on the same album as The Jam, Dexy's, Madness, Inspiral Carpets, Ocean Colour Scene and many more.

Edit this biography
Only In My Dreams (12") 1986
on Keep
The Complete Collection 1985-87 (LP+CD) 3-Jul-2015 - More details
on Firestation Records - FST 119
- . No Compromise
- Mind The Gap
- Paint Some Colour (Break Them Down)
- All I Want To Be
- New Generation
- The Undercurrent
- Everyday Talk
- The Sting In The Tail Of Love
- Give Me A Reason
- The Price Of Love
- Trapped In Time
- Only In My Dreams
- All We Need
- Counting Hours
- Empty Life (Demo)
- Stand Up And Believe It!
Last updated: 24-Mar-2024 © 1994-2024 TweeNet Creative Commons License